About the future

The start of a new school year is around the corner and as this will be my last high school year, I want to publish AtG before graduating.

During the summer holiday I have made pretty nice progress,  now there are four day mobs about which I will make a post soon and also a decent spell system to make combat fun.

What needs to be done before releasing? A few nighttime mobs, possibly dropping charms to craft new spell effects, winter day and night mobs, a set of “corrupt” tiles for evil parts of map, lots of armor, weapons and evil priests holding them and also map generation code.

Although the list is quite long, the base game and most features are basically completed and now comes filling in the content. What I plan for the gameplay are plains and deserts where player will hunt for food and build a shelter, getting spell ingredients at night and when ready continuing to fight into evil parts of map, where powerful priests and also powerful items will be located. Occasionally player will stumble upon peaceful npc villages. After a few hours of playtime the winter comes, freezing everything and putting the game into hard mode – no farming, harder enemies, shortage of food etc.

Now I have set myself a goal to put AtG on Steam Greenlight at the end of summer holiday. That doesn’t mean I will publish the game 20 days from now, it is more to see if people like my game and to get some feedback. If (a big if) I get through Greenlight, I will consider putting AtG in Early Access, but that is a long way to go.

Leave a comment