Postponing Greenlight

After long thinking(over 5 minutes) I decided not to use Greenlight just yet. Although I am tired of working on this game the majority of my free time in last year, I must remind myself that this is a great learning experience. I’ve learned programming, bit of pixel-art, music composition to come, and maybe just a little marketing.

And marketing is where I need to try hard. The game is far from complete, and being such a sandbox, goalless experience, it is difficult to say when it can be considered complete. I have only one shot with Greenlight, so I decided to create some community around the game first. But how? I may have to run around game forums and spam post about AtG for a while.

My plan for success? For now I will make some more content and finally connect all the crafting, baking and monster drops to make the game really playable. Then I need to make map proc generator, or build part of the map by hand. Release gameplay videos,  a playable demo, hit Greenlight and hope for the best. I think AtG has really big potential and I must give it some more attention before showing it to masses.

Leave a comment